I paid $90 including a deposit and have not received the refund and the bill was just a little over $ 53jeff B.
Customer Reviews for Shell Station
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)
Mesa, AZ 85207
(Northeast corner of Main St and Ellsworth Rd)
Services at this Location:
- Mon–Fri8:30 am–5 pm
- Saturday8:30 am–1 pm
- Sunday8:30 am–5 pm
- 24 hour customer return
Testimonials From Recent Customers
Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.
Customer did not leave a comment.JEAN W.
Pickup was in a gas station. Clerk was frazzled trying to handle two Uhaul pickups at once while also ringing up customers. Clerk was simultaneously on the phone with who I'm assuming was the person directing him about which Uhaul to give to who. I was first given the keys to the Uhaul on my contract. I was not told which one it was, but rather told to go outside and look for the serial number on the truck. Once I found the truck, it had a trailer attached to it that I did not reserve. I went back inside and told the teller I did not want the trailer attached and asked that it be removed. He said nothing and instead just handed me another set of keys to another random Uhaul. I went outside and tried the keys on two different trucks and it didn't work. I then returned back inside and told the clerk that the keys didn't work on the remaining trucks. He then looked at me blankly and asked if I tried the one behind the store. No, of course I didn't try the one behind the store because I was never told one was there. Finally, I walk behind the gas station and find the correct Uhaul. I arrive at my destination and realize my contract was never updated to reflect the new serial number for the truck I drove, or the mileage. This concerned me as I wanted to correct the information so I wouldn't get overcharged for putting miles on a truck I never drove. I called the Uhaul customer service number and spoke to an extremely unenthusiastic representative who when I explained the situation to, stated that there was nothing Uhaul would be able to do because the gentleman at the Shell station never notated any change of truck. How is it my fault that clerk didn't know what he was doing and didn't follow proper procedures on changing the information? I haven't been overcharged thankfully and hope it remains that way. Avoid picking up a Uhaul from any place other than a Uhaul store.Nicole O.
Really speedy returnlinda S.
Customer did not leave a comment.Steven V.
The people at the location were great. The truck was the dirtiest I have ever rented from uhaul. There was dog hair, melted chocolate, and dried blood everywhere.DAVID A.
Excellent serviceJohnny K.
Customer did not leave a comment.Chistian M.
Customer did not leave a comment.gary L.
Landing gear would not work to remove trailer from my truck.Stanley C.
I rented a truck with a dolly. The dolly was not in the truck. The truck was also filthy, in the cab and especially In the cargo area. I had to clean before I could use it. I would be charged to clean up and since I continue to clean the area, I should get a discount on the price. The dolly missing made my moving way harder. The truck also had tons of candy adapters, glitter and had graffiti on both side walls near the part of the cargo area that backs up to the cab of the truck. The graffiti was Jesus based. I also called the night before to make sure I knew how to rent the truck through the website. The agent accidentally canceled my reservation as when I arrived at 545am to pick it up on the 8th, my account showed 0 reservations. I called in and was advised it had been canceled. I advised this was wrong. The agent reopened my appointment. The agent also advised the dolly would be refunded when I drop off truck. While on the phone with uhaul a lady came out of the gad station approached me and rudly asked me what I was doing in the truck as she wasn't told I would be there. I advised I rented the tuck and she left with pit apologizing for the way she approached me. I upheld my side of the contract. I returned the vehicle clean (which it wasn't when I bought it?), filled gas uo to 3/4th tank and no damage. However you didn't hold up your end of the agreement. I had no dolly and a dirty truck. I called again as the drop off time showed 10 am on the 8th even though I selected 8 pm. The agent fixed this and also removed the dolly cost. Uhaul held $100.00, for my 24.99 rental, then refunded $ 66 back to me. I was never told that $100 would be held. Nor was this explained in any step of the reservation. This is total bait and switch. I want a amamger to reach out to me. 480-544-3295 or email. Again more wasted time due to your negligence.Stuart R.
Online it states the UHaul opens at 8:30. Arrived at 8:45, only one person was on staff at the gas station. It looked like she was making the fried chicken for the KKC. There was evidence of flour on her shirt and on her hands. She informed me that she did not know how to complete UHaul returns due to her manager not having shown her. She stated the manager would not be in until 9:30/10 and that she couldn't get ahold of him. She stated she had been trying for 30 minutes. Didn't state as to why. I proceeded to write my name and phone number down on a sticky note. Then had her take a picture of the contract. I asked her to have the manager call me when he got in. He did not ever call. After providing my phone number, I proceeded outside to park the dolly where she instructed would be best. I parked the dolly, figured out how to unhook it while on the phone with roadside assistance. I thought the online drop off was only for trucks. I thought the Clovis location starred it by accident. So, I didn't try until sitting in line at the walgreens next door. Figured out how to do it. Drove back to take a picture proving my return.Katherine C.
The truck smelled so horrible, I got a headache from it. I would rather have smelled someone who hasn't bathed in months than whatever was in that van.Kyle T.
Was perfect experience for us. We needed to rent something to move a table as our car was too small. We were very happy, the manager was so polite and helpful. Great experience!Sandra B.
Customer did not leave a comment.Patrick R.
I asked for a receipt and he refused so I have no idea what I was charged so I'm going to contact the better business bureaumary H.
Customer did not leave a comment.Sheena M.
Customer did not leave a comment.Kenneth S.
They need a lock on the lift. When I rented the truck, homeless people have been living in the back, I have pictures of trash of tissue ,piss in a bottle, very dirty blankets.Vicky H.
Nothing, the guy in the store that helped me was awesome, knowledgeable and friendly.. many thanks to all..Randall Z.
Customer did not leave a comment.DAVID T.
Customer did not leave a comment.April R.
Clerk at the gas station was friendly and helpful.Thomas D.
Turned in but got charged two extra daysBrian B.
These guys were great! They were helpful and extremely friendly and knowledgeable!Marlin M.
Customer did not leave a comment.April E.
Customer did not leave a comment.Deric O.
When I went to pick up the truck at the contracted time of 9:00 a.m., the person in charge was not there to give me the truck (he was not to be there until 10:00). The worked suggested I go to another U-Haul as she could not give me the truck. After about 10 minutes, she was able to call the person who would be able to complete the check-in so that I could get the keys. When I started the truck, I noticed that it did not have a full tank of gas (only 3/4). Also the check engine light was on, which was unnerving. When I returned, I put in 3 gallons of gas at the Shell station where I picked up the truck and observed that the fuel gauge was at 3/4. I drove 35 miles and the truck gets 12 mpg (advertised on Uhaul website), so 3 gallons added makes sense. When I got my receipt the next day, I was charged an extra 2 gallons. Whoever took the reading looked at the truck gas gauge measured on a hill, so it will not read correctly (slightly lower). The manager agreed with my comments and told me to call U-haul corporate office for a refund. Before calling the station manager, I had already called the UHaul corporate office. They told me they could not do anything and that I would have to call the station where I picked up the truck. Very frustrating experience.Michael L.
Customer did not leave a comment.Alicia G.
Customer did not leave a comment.Tom A.
Owner commented that reservations were supposed to be declined until after the Thanksgiving holiday but I was allowed to rent. Another uhaul location (storage) noticed that the chains were not hooked up according to Uhaul standards and corrected.Joseph P.
Customer did not leave a comment.Tyler J.
Customer did not leave a comment.RUIZ C.
Great servicePaul M.
The rental was changed by the store attendant to a one way to Bisbee and I was changed more when returned. I rented it to be returned to the same location. The trailer was returned and the price was not corrected.Laura H.
Excellent customer serviceRobert W.
Customer did not leave a comment.Rolf C.
Very good place for the drop off!!Timothy J.
Best costumer serviceray P.
Super nice guy. Very cordial and helpful.MICHAEL B.
It literally took the guy 25 minutes to come out and assist us. However, when we returned the trailer an hour late. They had the nerve to charge us another whole day. When you as a company changed our location to return it to after we booked the reservation 2 weeks early. Terrible experience and we'll do better research for more companies to rent from other than Uhaul.Latasha F.
Excellent customer service.Juliana S.
The best Uhaul location make the drop off very easy took 2 minutes friendly stuffDave G.
Customer did not leave a comment.Daniel E.
Increase staffGerald L.
Please make sure the trucks are washed before the next customer.Rosina M.
Technician was very helpful, polite and made the pick up of equipment pleasant. Thank you for your smileJonathan B.
Customer did not leave a comment.James P.
Best service thank youDaniel E.
Customer did not leave a comment.Stan T.
Customer did not leave a comment.chris J.
Customer did not leave a comment.SAM S.
Very easy and friendly peoplechris J.
Best Uhaul place very easy process and good costumer serviceEmanuel L.
Customer did not leave a comment.Gilberta C.
When explaining the problem with the truck he focused more on what I did or did not do than take down any notes on the problem. I was also charged for fuel when I should've not been charged for. The person who did the final check in I don't think is familiar with gauges.Cosmo V.
Very satisfied with how easy it was on both endsrobert C.
they help me so much, I didn't have a hitch and it was early in the morning but the store had back up hitches and the sold me one and I was on my way. Loljesus J.
Great costumer serviceDustin G.
I highly recommend this place!Karla S.
Best Uhaul Location I have ever been I been use Uhaul for 5 years this is really nice and good people at this location very friendly and nice store definitely recommended and use it for all my rentals future thank you for the serviceAndres C.
Customer did not leave a comment.jorge D.
have your neighborhood dealer have more experience to hook up trailers since i now have a huge dent and scratch in my vehicle due to poor hook up since he wanted to do itBrittany M.
Customer did not leave a comment.Eric D.
Customer did not leave a comment.Eric D.
Customer did not leave a comment.Frank M.
I return the truck two hours into my 4 hour rental. But they charged me for 2 rental periods and said I did not return the truck until the following day at 4:30 pm. I went back to the store three times trying to resolve it and nobody was ever there that could help me I called U-Haul customer service I went on the chat and sent an email which have all been completely ignored so now I'm left to dispute this with my credit card company I will never rent another U-Haul after this experienceAmi I.
I only needed the tow dolly to transport my car to transmission shop ,12 miles round trip less than a hour half. Guy at the station said 6 hours minimum for 44 buck ,wish there was a different charge for a few hours for close range transport. Other than thay it was OK guy was nice & equipment was satisfactory.Alfred C.
Customer did not leave a comment.Doug H.
Customer did not leave a comment.Michael R.
i was sent here instead of my reservation pickup last moment. 25 miles or $30 in gas further. uhaul states you dont have to sign but last minute. i spent money on a professional company to do one thing. they failed and their only response is you didnt have to sign. not our fault. not my fault tank was dry shen you received it back. didnt have to let me sign, did you.AL L.
Customer did not leave a comment.Nina O.
Customer did not leave a comment.Marianne M.
Put the equipment that you paid for in the vehicle to actually use.Alex B.
One of the 4 tires had 20lbs of air vs the 65 it should have had. One of the tie down straps was jammed and required Roadside Assistance before I could even load my carChris O.
Customer did not leave a comment.Michael K.
I was told the unit would be available if not I would receive a $50 credit. When I available the unit wasn't available so I was given the larger unit instead of $50 credit. So miner mix upWill W.
Customer did not leave a comment.yumilasky D.
Customer did not leave a comment.Tonia H.
Reservation moved the day before, was never notified. Day of move, sent to three different addresses. Once correct address was found truck on reserve wasn't available. A kind person gave me their Reservation instead so I could have a truck. Once I turned in the truck the wrong card was charged even though I told the associate when getting the key. Will not use uhaul again. Horrible service, called 800 number and still unable to get ahold of anyone due to wait time.Jessica P.
I reserved furniture dollies. Online. The pickup location didn't have any. They sent me to the Apache Sands location, they didn't have any. They sent me to Recker and Main location, they didn't have any. The guy there called 3 or 4 other locations, nobody had any. I shouldn't be able to reserve them on line if there aren't any available. I wasted an hour of my reservation time driving around looking for the dollies. You need to make it so your system knows which stores have what inventory and make it so you can't reserve something if it's not there. This isn't a review on the location where I picked up the van. This is a review for u-haul's equipment managing system.Numkene F.
Easy to work withAustin S.
Customer did not leave a comment.Diaann Q.
I had a very pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and efficient. They communicated clearly and effectively. I'm so glad this option was available for me, last minute. I needed to move a few large pieces of furniture I had purchased online. I realized a cargo van is way better than a truck for hauling furniture. I will definitely use this service again. Thank you!Sheryl M.
I have been using Uhaul for more than 40 years. Today's rental was the best experience that I have had with Uhaul. The gentleman who took my order was cordial and professional, and I was out the door with the vehicle in 5 minutes. Check in was easy too!MICHEL S.
Rep was not present, so several phone calls had to be made. Our reservation got lost, then found. Trailer was parked in such a way that we (two elderly people with bad backs) had to lift and drag it to the truck. We were late to get our equipment to the location where moving help was waiting.Roger S.
Call center does not answer phone calls on weekends and pick up locations come to work lateTHOMAS H.
The easiest rental process I've ever had and I've had a lot! I will be using this location from now on.Jennifer B.
The check engine light was on when we got the truck but there were no other issues.Melissa R.
This place is not a place I would've stopped had I not needed the U-haul! It was very dirty, run down, and the worker who rented it was not friendly, not helpful. He didn't say one word about the trailer, we had to ask him if we had it ready for safe travels.Dora M.
Great team! They helped my 80 yr old father hook up the trailer to our car and get it hooked up! Thanks guys.Larry O.
Customer did not leave a comment.Gilda C.
The whole experience was HORRIBLE TGE ONLY GOOD THING WAS THE STORE CLERK AT THIS GAS STATION. The uhaul system is the worst. It took 2 days and 3 diffrent reservation to get over charged and not get what I asked for or reserved I will make sure we never use you guys again and o have over 20000 followers I will make sure they don't either.Britlynn N.
Customer did not leave a comment.paul F.
Furniture dolly was unavailable even though I reserved it onlineTyler O.
Multiple issues with this location. A single employee running the gas station, cooking fast food and servicing the uhaul rentals. Returned truck 9 hours before it was due, yet was charged for a whole extra day. No communication and never able to get ahold of the location. They repeatedly attempted to charge my card for the wrong amount. Had to escalate with corporate office to stop them from charging incorrectly. In the past I have always had great experiences with Uhaul, however this experience was horrible. I assume it was the specific location which caused the issues.Tyler W.
I don't like getting rip off.Uhall is charging me for not filling the gas tank.When i picked up the truck the gas gauge was on 1/2.i will never use uhall ever.Kevin K.
Initially had an issue finding the truck keys but went about finding me a truck to use in a very professional manner. would recommend this location and utilize it in the future.TERRY R.
Customer did not leave a comment.Gerard K.
Everything was perfect, if there is improvement to comment on,I can't think of any. They gave me enough time to complete my business. Thank you for your outstanding service.Malcolm F.
Additional Services at this Location
We have the largest selection of new trucks!
Trailers & Towing
Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!
We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!