Customer Reviews for Southkeys Tires & Brakes
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

347 reviews

2638 Mac St Unit 1   Ottawa, ON K1V8V1

(613) 714-4579

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(613) 714-4579

2638 Mac St Unit 1
Ottawa, ON K1V8V1

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 7:30 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed
No photos available

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

Ensure the vehicle has been inspected I.e. tires inflated

Vergil G. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick no problem dropoff. Thank you H.

Doug F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hussein M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NATHALIE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROMAN G. 
Rating:
5.0

Outstanding service from the young woman at the pickup counter. There was a half empty beer can in the cab though.

K-ELAINE E. 
Rating:
5.0

Just awesome people

Hussein M. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was excellent too.

Valentina D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hussein M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DOUGLAS H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Omar M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES G. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything is good, excellent service!!

SERGIO G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Serge P. 
Rating:
5.0

Jasmine was wonderful! Met us outside to guide us where to park. Excellent customer service!! Was so helpful went above and beyond!!! Thank you 😊

JASMINA A. 
Rating:
4.0

Very well organized and no issues what so ever.

JOE A. 
Rating:
4.0

Friendly customer service.

Michael L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sheryl M. 
Rating:
3.0

A discussion with the customer prior to charging extra fees.

Renée-Pier C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hussein M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Doug B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service, great convenient computerized system. Thanks

HASANA A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHSTEPHANEJA B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service and experience. Staff is awesome.

GEORGE R. 
Rating:
5.0

T

MOHMED A. 
Rating:
3.0

Location was fine. Customer service rep I spoke to regarding charges on my receipt was terrible. Did not offer any solutions and down right rude. Did not even try to make a paying customer happy and ensure they return. I was never shown a copy of my contract upon pick up of my Uhaul and therefore, had no idea what extra charges I was going to possible be charged. When the extra charges showed up on my receipt, I naturally called to dispute. No solution. Rep was eager to get off the phone ending every sentence “ok ok ok”. Terrible service Uhual! Awful staff who work for Uhaul. Shame on you for duping customers out of money by not discussing a contract. Shame on you for finding loopholes blaming the customer. Shame on you for having such terrible customer service!!!!

SADIA S. 
Rating:
3.0

This was a redirect after booking at another location claimed their trailer was stolen. Request 5' x 8' originally and had to settle for 4' x 8' Didn't get receipt until returning trailer (via email), so unable to complain. Saw rental insurance was applied (which I never agreed to, including in original booking) This is what I expect from U-Haul. If there was a competitor disrupting low cost moving space, that didn't play the insurance and reshuffling of rentals games, I would gladly not use U-Haul again. Overall, service received was what I expected.

JASONMICHAEL GEO B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

De belder P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Don C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHAWN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice people

WILLIAM M. 
Rating:
5.0

I would certainly recommend this location but not many of the others in town. I also would not recommend using the phone to call UHaul because a "53 minute wait time" is ridiculous.

Philip B. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck's ventilation did not work, oil change light was on, truck floor had spit out sunflower seed shells on it - terrible during a CoVID pandemic. Gas tank wa only one quarter full.

Paolo U. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVENJOHN F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Vincenzo C. 
Rating:
4.0

I was wrongly charged for my mileage and i am yet to get a refund for this.

Michael E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ali H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM M. 
Rating:
3.0

We dropped off the truck after hours. It was dark and unfortunately the road is in poor condition, not well lit. It is not clear that it is a road. Maybe a sign at the cross street indicating that Uhaul is at the end of the street might be reassuring to clients who are new to the area, especially at night. The service for the final billing was excellent. I have no complaints about the service. The instructions to choose pick up and drop off is easy and clear. Thank you. sincerely Susan

susan O. 
Rating:
3.0

This location for drop off, was not close to where I live. Why are customers not allowed to drop off at the closest location to their residence? This would have made the process much easier. We were told by your call center, that this was the designated spot. When we arrived there, your employee told us, this in fact was NOT the correct spot. The communication between your employees could definitely use some improvement! Fortunately, he took the trailer. That location is dumpy and dirty looking with trailers left all over the place and piles of garbage out front and on the property. This does not invite customer satisfaction! EN

ANNE N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BASHIR M. 
Rating:
4.0

Extremely dirty and dilapidated premises. Employees didn't care about customers, too busy with their own business. Had to insist that he check over the truck, mileage, fuel Number of blankets and provide me with a receipt. I'd avoid this location at all costs.

JOANNE L. 
Rating:
1.0

I was informed that the location time was different than the one informed at the door. So I did the online drop-off and could not cover the issues of the missing dolly which I paid for.

Eduardo H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael P. 
Rating:
5.0

The guy helping connect the trailer was very helpful and patience with my backing up skills.. The guy inside was super efficient and friendly!

MARCD M. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RICARDO H. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was full of dog hair, there is something wrong with the steering, when I dropped off the truck,it took me 15 min to find a spot to park it as there were alot of no parking signs and no spot left for the truck and on top of all that, I got charged 15$ for fuel, they claimed that I got the truck a little bit over half and I returned it at half which is not true, I have pictures of before and after, it was exactly at where I took it. Uhaul needs to refund the 15$ asap.

ALAINHIKMAT A. 
Rating:
5.0

Suggest that you speak to a rep rather than doing the online check out. If you can.

THOMAS C. 
Rating:
5.0

I think your services are excellent and no comments. I would like to thank you for your outstanding service. I wish you success. Thank you

ABDULAZIZR M S. 
Rating:
1.0

They were not prepared for my pick-up at all...had to wait over an hour and ended up having to go to another location for a truck. Kudos to Trevor who gave me hands-on attention to get the truck ready and get me on my way. But word to the wise... at end month you can absolutely expect problems so give yourself lots of time.

Mike S. 
Rating:
1.0

I was charged the insurance cost when I never requested for that

ASHISH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Have trolleys available

MIHAI B. 
Rating:
4.0

The trick has a check engine light on, when I hooked it up to a code reader it came back as a P0420 which means the catalytic converter has failed, which means decreased fuel efficiency or more money for gas because I got this truck instead of another one. Also, the ball joints were popping so bad I wasn't sure I would make it back safely.

Rob H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHNB C. 
Rating:
1.0

We called to ask if we could extend our rental a few hours and the worker at South Keys Tires and Breaks told us it was not problem at all. However, he didn't let me know that my entire bill would double in price. Would have been nice to have this information beforehand.

LAURA L. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome place fast service great staff

Hussein M. 
Rating:
4.0

The online sign-in process was long and confusing. When I went in and spoke with the counter person, Anna, it went much more easily.

Thomas C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James K. 
Rating:
2.0

Hard to access with only on option off Hunt Club.

GREGORYR S. 
Rating:
5.0

I would let others know that there is no street sign to indicate Mac Street. I just happen to see the Uhaul sign.

Cathy B. 
Rating:
4.0

Meet the staff briefly as we dropped off the truck (after moving over 8hrs away) but he was very helpful and made us feel at ease moving to a strange city.

Heidi K. 
Rating:
5.0

Guys are good and attentive to the customers

STEVENMATHIAS M. 
Rating:
5.0

The associate that attended to me was very helpfull and handled the hitching of the trailer. I was completely satisfied with the service. It was a challenge to make the reservation on line had to resort to a phone reservation

GILLESJOSEPH AIM C. 
Rating:
3.0

Quick friendly and efficient. Appreciated.

Frank D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOELANDRE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jodi M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KATHERINE T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARCO G. 
Rating:
3.0

Make sure the vehicles are clean

ROBERTDWIGHT S. 
Rating:
5.0

The people were friendly and easy to deal with.

Mark T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMALAMINE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service!

ANDREWJOHNWATSON M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HASANA A. 
Rating:
3.0

I called ahead of time to make sure I would arrive at the right time to pick up my rental truck. The lady told me to be there for 630, my reservation was at 730 to process the paperwork. I got there at 630 and no worker was there. Someone else was waiting and said the worker went to bring a client back home?? We waiting for one hour for him to come back. I was not impressed at all by the service of this location. Once the worker came i got the keys and stepped into the vehicle. The truck was very dirty. I got home a cleaned it with disinfecting wipes i was using this vehicle for 3 days. The wipes were BLACK., I would think during a pandemic, the trucks would be cleaned to prevent the spread of bacteria and viruses. I will not go back to this location and will not refer a friend.

ALEXANDRACATHERI B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID K. 
Rating:
4.0

I was overcharged for mileage and am still waiting for a response.. I did 12 km and was charged for 145km.

Carol B. 
Rating:
1.0

Trailer was defective, the leg for removing the trailer from our car, was broken and held up with duct tape and a wire coathanger. Will be requesting refund. Location did NOT wear masks, or warn us of a dangerously broken piece of equipment. Called location to talk about the issues, and they ignored our request for a call back. Requested roadside assistnace from uhaul, they could not find anyone to help us remove the trailer, so we were trapped with it on our car and could not move our boat over the weekend. Roadside assistance located a nearer location to drop it off at, but the location was closed even after informing uhaul that we required assistance to get it off.

James H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLESK H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniele G. 
Rating:
5.0

Remind customers that if they do the after hours drop off that they should not drop the key until they fibaih6the mobile return

ADAMS D. 
Rating:
1.0

this truck broke down and towed away and i'm being charged for 2 days $79.90 rental when I had this truck for approx. 5 hours before being towed away, i'm being charged $65.78 for distance charge,$30.00 for insurance for 2 days when it should have been only $15 for 1 day for a total of 200.78 . 2 separate charges to my visa as follows-$95.54 and $ 105.24. I should only be charged $39.95 for thr rental and $30.00 for mileage.I want my visa refunded.I was also told that because of the problems with this truck that they would reverse the charges.I have spent 6 hours in total on hold with UHAUL only to be told to deal with the place I rented from and they tell me I have to deal with UHAUL directly.I'm fed up spending numerous hours on the phone and being told to deal with everyone else when this should have been rectified from the moment you picked up this truck with the towing company.All these charges to my visa are un-authorised and I want this fixed TODAY

RENE K. 
Rating:
5.0

The customer service is great! Everyone was very nice.

KAYLIEANNE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hussein M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVENM D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVIDRENE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Outstanding Job!

PASQUALE I. 
Rating:
1.0

This location saved my bacon aftsr previous location lost my booking and had nothing for md. Still, had to drive an enourmous tduck with the engine light on. No fun.

JASONA R. 
Rating:
2.0

Charged me fuel even I filled tank where it was.

Yousef Y. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tyler L. 
Rating:
3.0

The seats had stains on them. There was no clutter which was nice but the seats and console were dirty and the A/C didn't work.

Dakota E. 
Rating:
4.0

I received the fuel in the Truck 3/8 and I returned it a little less than 3/8, but your estimation of the fuel left in the tank was not accurate Thx

Suliman G. 
Rating:
1.0

Staff was very rude and has no manner to talk

Karamjeet S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert P. 
Rating:
1.0

Unprofessional of service Bad service Five 👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼 The car is completely. out of service, shocked, everywhere in the car , very bad condition, dirty, Very loud annoying sound from the muffler, I do not advise, anyone to go to this place, the important thing is to check the kilometer counter before taking the car and take a picture of the dashboard, this service is not worthy of U-Hill

FAISALSALEH AHME A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MAKSIM T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William P. 
Rating:
3.0

I had reserved two dolleys, blankets and boxes with my reservation. None were available, at pick up. I was told I should've received an email telling me that, but I never received one. VERY inconvenient, on moving day. Was very stressful. Man that helped me at the pick up station was very kind & helpful, though.

Jennifer J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARTINK P. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top